MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Tuesday, 27 April 2021 (8:30 - 8:38 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Edna Fergus (Chair) Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Evelyn Carpenter Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Amardeep Singh Jamu Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Mick McCarthy Cllr Margaret Mullane Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Chris Rice Cllr Paul Robinson Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Phil Waker Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Abdul Aziz Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Peter Chand Cllr Irma Freeborn Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Donna Lumsden Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Foyzur Rahman Cllr Lynda Rice Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Dominic Twomey Cllr Maureen Worby Cllr Sanchia Alasia Cllr Toni Bankole Cllr Laila M. Butt Cllr Faruk Choudhury Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Eileen Keller Cllr Olawale Martins Cllr Dave Miles Cllr Dave Miles Cllr Simon Perry Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Ingrid Robinson Cllr Emily Rodwell Cllr Lee Waker

5. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

6. Award of Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The Chair advised that an extraordinary meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called to consider four nominations for the award of the Freedom of the Borough, the highest honour that a Council could bestow on an individual in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Councillor Twomey moved and Councillor Mullane seconded the nomination of Dora Challingsworth as Honorary Freewoman of the Borough.

Councillor Ashraf moved and Councillor Freeborn seconded the nomination of Sandie Shaw MBE as Honorary Freewoman of the Borough.

Councillor Darren Rodwell moved and Councillor Ingrid Robinson seconded the nomination of Paul Ince as Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

Councillor Darren Rodwell moved and Councillor Twomey seconded the nomination of Claire Symonds on behalf of the Council's workforce as Honorary Freewoman of the Borough. The Ceremonial Council **resolved** to award the Honorary Freedom of the Borough to Dora Challingsworth, Sandie Shaw MBE, Paul Ince and Claire Symonds.